Natrona Schools – Our Kids, Our Community

Discover how our kids are being empowered to create their future!

Trojan Trek Student Blog Series – Suzanne Savoy

Editor’s note: Over the next several weeks, we will feature guest blogs from Kelly Walsh High School students. They will share their personal story of why they are involved in the upcoming Trojan Trek to benefit the Angels Cancer Care Program. The Trojan Trek will take place in June when participants will walk the track for 720 hours. If you are interested in participating, walkers are asked to raise at least $100 in pledges and donations for every hour spent on the track. Register online at wyomingmedicalcenter.org/trojantrek or call Jillian Riddle, Angels Cancer Care coordinator, at 577-4355 to find an open slot or to donate money to someone else’s trek.

Cancer.

I want to make it clear that we do not walk for cancer. Cancer sucks and deserves no glamorous recognition or standing ovation, so I will not give it one.

We walk for people. People everywhere who have been changed by cancer and who have many stories to tell because of it. We walk to help deliver wigs to the bald, blankets to the chilly, and smiles to the scared. We walk because we want to bring back Sunday dinners with grandma and because we miss our fifth grade teacher who we visit at the hospital during recess. We walk because it gives us time out of our hectic lives to help the ones we love.

I walk because it gives a chance for my mom to tell stories about my grandmother who had 5 boys in a house with one bathroom. I walk because it reminds me of how thankful I am that my aunt can still come to visit and play board games for countless hours with me. I walk because my aunt’s sister looks dang good with a turban and some dangly earrings. I walk because the $100 I raise goes to people I know and love and allows them to have pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving and a heart-shaped card on Valentines. The Angels Cancer Care Program gives that money to people, not to the cancer that plagues their lives.

Because of that fact, if I could, I would be walking around that track for all 720 hours of the month of June. Instead, we all walk with the same joy in our hearts knowing that whatever the situation, our time spent selflessly allows for others to feel the love of the people around them.

About the Author

Suzanne Savoy will be a senior this coming year at Kelly Walsh High School. During this time, she will be serving as a member of the Executive Board. Suzanne plays the cello in the KW orchestra and loves hiking and reading in her free time. She hopes to one day become an elementary school teacher.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2014 by in Community, Home - Inside NCSD, Student Clubs and Activities, Well-Being.

Natrona Schools

Blog Stats

  • 106,764 hits
